Skip to main content
Home and immigration

Statutory holidays

Back to Portal - Home and immigration

What is a statutory holiday?

A statutory holiday is a day on which workers are entitled to paid leave. The amount paid for the statutory holiday is 1/20th of the wage earned over four full weeks of pay prior to the week in which the leave takes place. This amount does not include overtime.

Statutory holidays in Quebec

There are eight statutory holidays a year in Quebec:

  • January 1 (New Year’s Day)
  • Good Friday or Easter Monday (your employer decides which day you have off; in some cases this may be both days)
  • The Monday prior to May 25 (National Patriots’ Day)
  • June 24 (Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day)
  • July 1 (Canada Day)
  • The first Monday of September (Labour Day)
  • The 2nd Monday of October (Thanksgiving)
  • December 25 (Christmas Day)